How to Become an HVAC Technician in Oregon

Search HVACR Certified Technician Programs

Get information on HVACR Certified Technician programs by entering your zip code and request enrollment information.

Sponsored Search

Oregon is usually known for having a cooler climate throughout the year.

But in the summer, it can get a little uncomfortable.

HVAC professionals are thus needed to make sure that favorable conditions are present to have a comfortable environment throughout the year.

They can design and build HVAC systems.

Each state has different policies and steps when it comes to becoming an HVAC technician.

In Oregon, too, you have to fulfill a few criteria before you can get licensed.

After you finish reading this blog, you will know just what to do to become an HVAC technician in Oregon.

Search HVACR Certified Technician Programs

Get information on HVACR Certified Technician programs by entering your zip code and request enrollment information.

Sponsored Listings

How to Become an HVAC Technician in Oregon: A Step-by-Step Guide

If you wish to legally perform HVAC work in the state of Oregon, you need an HVAC license.

Let’s take a look at the steps you need to take for that.

Step 1: Get Your HVAC Education

First and foremost, before you go on to have your required training for HVAC work, it is advised to finish your high school diploma.

After that, you can either get into an apprenticeship program or take a course from an accredited trade school.

One thing that you have to understand is that Oregon does not have any HVAC-specific license.

Instead, it requires you to have a Limited Energy Class B (LE/B) license issued by the Oregon Construction Contractors Board.

If you want, you can also get the Limited Energy Class A license as well.

With that, you can work on signaling systems.

However, the Class B license is sufficient for HVAC work.

To become a licensed LE/B, you can do three things:

  • Complete an apprenticeship approved by the Board
  • Do 288 hours of classes, have 4,000 hours of experience, and 32 hours of training.
  • Have 8,000 hours of experience outside of the state of Oregon and finish a training program of 32 hours.

While an apprenticeship may be enough, it is also a good idea to do a course from an accredited HVAC Trade school.

It increases your chances of getting your application for licensure approved.

The apprenticeship programs usually consist of 144 hours of classroom training and 4,000 hours of work experience.

Step 2: Apply For HVAC License

Once you meet the requirements, apply for the exam and pass it.

Once you get your LE/B license, make sure to renew it every 3 years, with continuing education.

The next thing you can do is be a Limited Specialty Contractor HVAC/R (LHR).

If you want to run a company, having this license is necessary.

Plus, if you get HVAC jobs that are $1,000 or over, you need this license.

Step 3: Get Contractor License

The Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB) gives out these licenses.

Here are the things that you need to follow for getting the Contractor License in Oregon:

  • Be 18 years old, minimum.
  • Have 4,000 hours or 4 years of work experience.
  • Finished an HVAC apprenticeship program or specialized training.
  • Finished training of 16 hours in business as well as law practices.

Once you have got these covered, sit for the exam and pass it to get the contractor license.

Keep in mind that you have to provide surety bonds as well as proof of liability insurance.

Step 4: Other Certifications

If you handle refrigerants or coolants as a part of your job, it is important to get a certificate from The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), required under Section 608.

Other than the EPA certification, you can also get the NATE (North American Technician Excellence) certificate.

It is not mandatory, but it does show off your expertise and skills and can help you in your career.

Step 5: Renew Your License

You have to renew your license every 3 years, no matter what kind of license you may have.

You have to complete continuing education as well before renewal.

The time varies based on what license you want to renew.

HVAC Schools in Oregon

As mentioned before, to perform HVAC work in the state of Oregon, you have to complete an approved HVAC apprenticeship program.

Along with that, you can do additional courses to better your chances. Let’s take a look at some of the top schools.

Lane Community CollegeLane Community College

Lane Community College offers an apprenticeship program and an Associate of Applied Science (AAS) program.

The apprenticeship program takes about 4 years while the AAS degree takes 2 years and costs $13,758.

Chemeketa Community CollegeChemeketa Community College

This is another college that offers an apprenticeship program for 4 years.

Located in Salem, Chemeketa Community College requires to be at least 18 years old for this program and have a high school diploma.

The estimated tuition for Oregon residents is $126 per credit, and for other-state residents, it is $291 per credit.

Portland Community CollegePortland Community College

Portland Community College offers an AAS degree of 2 years.

Students will become equipped with the necessary skills related to HVAC systems.

The estimated tuition is $123 per credit.

Some other schools to consider:

Northwest College of ConstructionNorthwest College of Construction

Clackamas Community CollegeClackamas Community College

School Name Address
Lane Community College 4000 E 30th Ave, Eugene, OR 97405, United States
Chemeketa Community College 4000 Lancaster Dr NE, Salem, OR 97305, United States
Portland Community College 722 SW 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97204, United States
Northwest College of Construction 8111 NE Holman St, Portland, OR 97218, United States
Clackamas Community College 19600 Molalla Ave, Oregon City, OR 97045, United States

HVAC Technician Salary in Oregon

The average annual salary of HVAC professionals in Oregon is $56,550, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

The salary increases as you gain more experience.

Annual Salary Range:
Annual Salary by Location:
Location Avg. Annual Salary
Portland $51,080
Eugene $48,256
Salem $48,426
Gresham $51,015
Hillsboro $50,917
Beaverton $51,080
Bend $47,712
Medford $47,815
Springfield $48,148
Corvallis $47,860

Regional Salary in Oregon

Region Employed Avg. Annual Salary Avg. Hourly Pay Top 10% Annual Salary Bottom 10% Annual Salary
Albany, OR120$55,020$26.45$75,250$36,240
Bend-Redmond, OR320$59,450$28.58$80,600$39,020
Corvallis, OR30$61,670$29.65$82,370$37,490
Eugene, OR320$58,120$27.94$76,270$38,140
Grants Pass, OR40$57,290$27.55$80,190$36,540
Medford, OR200$58,140$27.95$81,440$38,680
Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro, OR-WA2,380$64,100$30.82$91,750$44,220
Salem, OR500$58,700$28.22$77,340$38,200
* Salary information based on the May 2022 Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) Survey for Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers, OCC Code 49-9021, BLS.
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.

Frequently Asked Questions

Will My Oregon HVAC License Work In Any Other State?

No, Oregon does not have any reciprocity agreements with other states.

Is Getting an HVAC License Necessary in Oregon?

Yes, it is necessary in Oregon.

Oregon does not have any requirement for a state-specific HVAC license, but it does require you to get a LE/B license.

What Benefits Will I Get When I Get Licensed?

When you successfully get an HVAC license, you will be able to show off your skills and experience.

You can also operate your own business when you have a Contractor License.

It can also improve your earning potential.

HVAC Technician Info by State

Jamie Willis
Career Specialist at BecomeopediaHi, my name is Jamie Willis, and I have been helping students find their perfect internships and education paths for the last ten years. It is a passion of mine, and there really is nothing better than seeing students of mine succeed with further studies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *